Section for Anthropology of the Word

phone: 22 55 20 204
room 03
head of section: Agnieszka Karpowicz

Section for Anthropology of the Word

The Section for Anthropology of the Word is focused on studying language considered as a cultural phenomenon. The anthropological research perspective consists in viewing language as inseparably connected with the speaking subject, hence in use and in context, including different media of the word, their profiles and functions. We think that all “language techniques” “and “language games” should be perceived and studied as cultural practices.

Research conducted within the Section includes the theoretical construction of anthropology of the word as well as anthropological analyses and interpretations of specific linguistic phenomena.
Our inquiries, both theoretically and historically oriented, cover such problem areas as: characteristics and functions of different media of the word (particularly writing and print, including the issue of “the literate/textual bias”); relations of the word with other cultural media (especially the phenomenon of “the logovisual”); media practices of institutions; forms, genres and practices of verbal art.

Recently the team of the Section for Anthropology of the Word carried out the following group research projects:
– „Anthropological study of verbal art: media, genres, practices” (2010-2012); the results published in: : Antropologia twórczości słownej [Anthropology of verbal art], ed. Katarzyna Hagmajer-Kwiatek, Agnieszka Karpowicz, Justyna Kowalska-Leder (2012), Almanach Antropologiczny 4: Twórczość słowna / literatura. Performance, tekst, hipertekst [The Anthropological Almanac 4: Verbal Art / Literature. Performance, text, hypertext], ed. Grzegorz Godlewski, Agnieszka Karpowicz, Marta Rakoczy, Paweł Rodak (2014), Od aforyzmu do zinu. Gatunki twórczości słownej [From Aphorism to Zine: Genres of Verbal Art], ed. Grzegorz Godlewski, Agnieszka Karpowicz, Marta Rakoczy, Paweł Rodak (2014).
– „Linguistic practices as cultural practices from the perspective of anthropology of the word” (2012-2014); the results published in: Antropologia praktyk językowych [Anthropology of linguistic practices], ed. Grzegorz Godlewski, Agnieszka Karpowicz, Marta Rakoczy (2015).

Faculty:
Grzegorz Godlewski, Professor , grzegorzgodlewski@op.pl
Agnieszka Karpowicz, Associate Professor (Head of Section), agnieszka_karpowicz@wp.pl
Zuzanna Grębecka, Assistant Professor, zuzannagrebecka@uw.edu.pl
Marta Rakoczy, Assistant Professor, marta.rakoczy@wp.pl
Olga Kaczmarek, Ph.D. okaczmarek@wp.pl
Jerzy Stachowicz, Ph.D. (secretary of Section), jurek.stachowicz@gmail.com

Graduate students:
Maja Dobiasz, majadobiasz@gmail.com
Paulina Domagalska, paudomagalska@gmail.com
Anna Krawczak, anna.krawczak@nasz-bocian.pl
Klara Kukowska, klara.cykorz@gmail.com
Matylda Małecka, matylda.malecka@gmail.com
Andrei Rasiński, andrei.rasinski@gmail.com
Justyna Schollenberger, juscholl@gmail.com
Anna Wandzel, ankawandzel@gmail.com
Clara Zgoła, clara.n.zgola@gmail.com

Institute of Polish Culture
Krakowskie Przedmieście 26/28
00-927 Warszawa
tel.+48 22 552 03 24
22 552 26 04

University of Warsaw
ul. Krakowskie Przedmieście 26/28
00-927 Warszawa
tel. +48 22 552 00 00
NIP 525-001-12-66

Faculty of Polish Studies

Project and realisation:
rzeczyobrazkowe.pl